Writing

handsSometimes I don’t really know what to write, and then I think oh, you shouldn’t write for the sake of writing, you should write because–because you’re trying to write something. Because you’re trying to convey something. Because there’s a story you have to tell, a thought to flesh out, a destination to get to. You’re driving your point home.

But I don’t always have a point or a story or destination.ย And then I remember how I used to squirrel away hours just stabbing down words, stringing together sentences, writing whatever I wanted just because. Because it was fun and it made me happy and I didn’t really care if people read it or loved it or hated it. It was like rubbing on unscented lotion. It’s therapeutic, no one really knows you’re wearing it, and it’s something you do for yourself. You’re not trying to leave behind little scent fragments of yourself. You’re just doin’ you.

And I like how writing’s an avenue to sort things out. It’s like talking through a problem, but writing through ideas instead. I’ll start off with a nebulous idea of what I’m going for, or something I’m trying to get out and by the end of, oh, five or ten pages, I’ll have come to some conclusion. That, or at least have reached greater clarity on something than I would’ve if I hadn’t written it at all.ย Thinking is thinking: chaotic and constant. Feeling is feeling: sometimes uncontrollable and inexplicable and discomforting. Writing’s sorting through that. If my head were a tree raining varied thought-leaves, then writing’s my little rake.

299 thoughts on “Writing

  1. Ipeleng April 6, 2017 / 7:17 pm

    This helped me, as someone who loves to write but is (was?) scared of not writing something “interesting”. Thank you for this โค

    Liked by 4 people

    • Lu April 6, 2017 / 9:50 pm

      I feel that way all the time ๐Ÿ˜… but then fear gets in the way of writing and it doesn’t feel as natural… reminding myself to write for myself takes the pressure off ๐Ÿ™‚ best of luck on your writing endeavors! And thanks for checking out my blog ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Nefertiti24 April 6, 2017 / 8:53 pm

    I liked this. So chill and yet profound

    Liked by 2 people

    • Lu April 6, 2017 / 9:50 pm

      Thanks :)))))

      Like

    • Lu April 6, 2017 / 9:52 pm

      Aw! Thanks for the kind words Shivangi. Just followed your blog; you are a good writer ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. landingamongststars April 7, 2017 / 6:46 am

    This totally resonates with me… writing is such a cathartic experience! To me, I express that mostly through poetry and song lyrics. To read your writing is such a joy!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. GANSU April 7, 2017 / 10:27 am

    I love the way you have put your thoughts about writing. I always wanted to put my thoughts down. But something was always stopping me from doing it, might be self doubt I don’t know.Till about 2 days ago, I got my self a new Red iPhone 7 plus, which suddenly brought a lot of thinks to my clarity. I decided to start blogging. And now I enjoy writing so much, that I decided I would post at least one thing every day. Let’s see how I will keep up.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Lu April 9, 2017 / 8:13 am

      Happy to hear that you find happiness and clarity in writing c: Blogging’s super fun–just checked out & followed yours. Best of luck, Sugunag! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  5. Scrapbookjourneys April 7, 2017 / 5:15 pm

    Writing is like my rake…How so true!! ๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ’ฏ

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lu April 9, 2017 / 8:14 am

      ๐Ÿ™‚ thank you

      Like

  6. Fionnlagh April 8, 2017 / 11:43 pm

    This was a delightful read. It reminded me of earlier years when I too used to have a greater output and enjoyment with my writing. Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Nathan Gelb April 9, 2017 / 3:00 pm

    This was an inspiring read. Definitely makes me rethink my own point of view on writing. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Nathan Gelb April 9, 2017 / 3:11 pm

    Reblogged this on Swirling Synapse and commented:
    Thought I would reblog this here as a reminder that we shouldn’t be too serious about life. Instead we should find ways to enjoy all aspects of our day to day lives and always to take a few moments just for ourselves.

    Thank you Lu for writing this, Inspirational.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. toplily April 10, 2017 / 4:55 pm

    Love this!! It’s about time it be known that ‘there mustn’t be rules’ to writing… Keep to one simple comand; WRITE!
    Write from your heart. Pour out your thoughts. Unrestrained. Don’t hold back!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lu April 16, 2017 / 10:07 am

      Thanks, Dave!

      Like

  10. pratima April 11, 2017 / 8:27 pm

    nice explanation about ur writng..it is natural whrn we want to do something..we think too much..from where should it start and how…many more points comes into our mind…really awesome ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

    Liked by 1 person

  11. jemehlee April 12, 2017 / 12:50 am

    I recently made a decision to just write, no preparation. write because i, we, want to, love to. i like the way you write! *thumbs up*

    Liked by 1 person

  12. navasolanature April 13, 2017 / 4:39 pm

    Fascinating words and I love the sketch. Writing can have different purposes but always involves us in sorting out ideas into a little bit more clarity!

    Like

  13. Bubbalooblue April 13, 2017 / 9:45 pm

    If my head were a tree raining varied thought-leaves, then writingโ€™s my little rake.

    This is so good. This blog may have been what i needed to remind me that writng is for me and organizing my thoughts and expeiriences. Thanks. . gonna read it again

    Like

  14. bliss823 April 16, 2017 / 12:33 pm

    U write very similar of me I like your post ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ˜Š

    Like

  15. kingshuk599 April 16, 2017 / 9:33 pm

    Excellent content

    If you feel, you can visit my blog at : https:// cheerfulbeings.wordpress.com

    Like

  16. ashleymcdermott April 17, 2017 / 4:34 pm

    Oh my. I love it.

    and now I may also love you a little too.

    You are a very talented writer!

    Like

  17. bernalhilda April 19, 2017 / 12:29 pm

    I love the way you expressed that feeling of thoughts going on inside your head. You are a blessing to those that read your words.

    Like

  18. allgenealogystories April 21, 2017 / 11:20 am

    I become close to the things I write about. Lately I have been writing about my ancestors and telling stories to benefit my defendants. Its a trip.
    John

    Like

  19. Peculiar Circle April 22, 2017 / 7:30 pm

    Brilliant! An easy and enjoyable read. I agree, writing really is therapeutic for the mind. Whenever I write my mood always boosts. Coincidentally, I was going to write a blog on the topic!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lu April 24, 2017 / 12:12 pm

      โ˜บ๏ธ

      Like

  20. Anzel van der Westhuizen April 23, 2017 / 7:55 am

    “And then I remember how I used to squirrel away hours just stabbing down words, stringing together sentences, writing whatever I wanted just because. Because it was fun and it made me happy and I didnโ€™t really care if people read it or loved it or hated it.”
    This really resonated with me. This is the way I used to write and something I’m always trying to recapture. I know I’ll get to that point again some day. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lu April 24, 2017 / 12:12 pm

      Thanks Anzel!!! Happy to hear it resonated with you :)))

      Liked by 1 person

  21. fshehriblog April 25, 2017 / 5:26 pm

    Writing writing writing! Writing is vital on our lives, we basically write to communicate.

    I’m currently taking a class on writing in English, and my first language is Arabic and I was never good in putting ideas in a piece of paper and presenting it in an organized way. I’m very good with talking, but not in writing, so it’s kinda struggle.

    Despite of my limited ability to writing, I will get bette at writing by: starting to write on my diary; writing in WordPress; and finally writing my assignments professionally enough.
    Lastly, what a great article this is and I hope all the best to you.

    Like

  22. ramaink May 4, 2017 / 10:22 am

    That sketch is incredible, by the way! Love your blog! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lu May 16, 2017 / 10:20 pm

      Ah, that’s so poetic ! โ˜บ๏ธ Thank you, Alexius

      Liked by 1 person

  23. Lara Ruzol May 11, 2017 / 11:50 pm

    Sometimes when I write, I tend to make it lengthy because I thought it can convey my message better. But my greatest challenge lies in making my entries as brief as yours. Succinct and straightforward. So thank you for this. It felt as though you knew the words that I needed. Haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lu May 20, 2017 / 9:39 pm

      Hi! Thank you so much for the nomination, this just made my day! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  24. Claire Belberg May 31, 2017 / 6:27 am

    I really need to write for that reason, among many other reasons for why I like to write. Writing is how I sort out my thoughts and feelings, making sense of them, seeing the connections, coming to conclusions about which thoughts and feelings are worth doing something about and which can be allowed to drift away. I’m so glad I have the time to journal most days. Most of what I journal will never be read by someone else, but that’s fine because it isn’t written for others, unlike my blogging, my novel, most of my poetry, and my short stories. Different writing for different purposes, but all of them contribute to me making sense of me and my world.

    Like

  25. emmasouthlondon August 2, 2017 / 11:24 am

    Very beautiful words, and very beautiful images. Thank you for sharing them with us.
    Inspiring.
    Emma. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Penny Lane Writes September 1, 2017 / 8:24 am

    What a terrific analogy of writing! Described so very well!
    I’m glad I found your blog and thank you for the follow! I look forward to seeing more of your work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

