Day 14: Home

10: like a sleepy warm embrace 9: the sound of hisses pots pans before dinner “o I just throw things together” 8: organized disarray groaning under its own weight 7: driving down winding empty roads

6: (tethered) 5: dancing, singing, stepping on my own toes 4: cardboard sign that reads FREE HUGS 3: cracking tilting falling apart but it’s not about the SHELL it’s about the PEANUT 2: happy slow light

1: and warm. very very warm

[30 Day Writing Challenge]

(Earlier I was reading Michael Mira’s (@journalofdisposablethoughts) post on how we all have to have a “home as a reference point….It could be at a railway station in Nairobi or in your wife’s loving arms.” Just something that keeps us 6: tethered–“we all need a single point in the universe to attach our roots.”)

One thought on “Day 14: Home

  1. Michael Raqim Mira August 16, 2016 / 7:05 am

    Thank you for referencing my site. I’m glad you found something of substance in my chaotic, rambling blog.

    “Driving down winding empty roads”

    If you ever go to New Hampshire, I recommend you drive down Chocorua Mountain Highway from Portsmouth to North Conway. Bonus: Do it in the middle of Autumn.

    Last summer, I drove from Houston to New Hampshire and cruised down that highway just right after dawn. I had the windows down, music off, and I was the only motorist on the road. I swear, it was like I was driving through heaven.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

