Capsule Cocoon

This is my sensory capsule (warmwarmwarm in my cocoonish sensory capsule) A pile of the links/things/stuff I’ve consumed/created/engaged in in the past few days, from stories to art to episode analyses; from conversations to unsent letters to voyeuristic works:

Reading: The First Wife, Lit Hub

Listening to: Marsipan on the phone as we laugh and vent and discuss–

Viewing: When Photography Imitates Voyeurism, NYTimes

“Arne Svenson’s photographs…capture people at home through their windows. The neighbors, who were unaware they were being photographed, are somewhat obscured — bending over, back to the window, head turned, behind a curtain.”

Talking: about the odd intimacy between the viewer and a seemingly private space in voyeurism; a podcast on a woman who watched a young couple grow old then frail then sickly and gaunt; the way psychopaths are hollow, the way the best friendships bloom from outta nowhere; did you know horses hit the hay after giving birth?

MT: You know, honestly it makes me sad when you don’t remember the things you’ve drawn for me.

Me: What do you mean? I forget. Oh, I just did it again. Remind me. Are you talking about–

MT: –That rodent project we did in Luzardo’s. I was kind of sad and angry you didn’t remember it. 

Me: You were angry?!

MT: Yeah, I kinda wanted to keep it, too.

Me: I could draw another rodent for you.

MT: Wouldn’t be the same.

Drawing: Two Point Perspectives in my queer politics class; we’re talking about discourse and Heteronormativity (but we’ll end the terms list with Queer)

Watching: Auto Erotic Assimilation, Rick and Morty (this is the analysis)

“…the profoundly bleak ending suggests that Rick really does have a deeper emotional connection to Unity, albeit one that he would refuse to consider long enough to ever be able to properly articulate…

…Taken all together, this is one of Rick And Morty’s most thematically coherent outings, a half-hour expertly devoted to teasing out all the possible ways people’s interactions can turn toxic and destructive. This is a question to which there really is no right answer….”

Writing: Library Letters to a ‘bertus, who’s in training

September 13th 2016 at 9:39 PM – Remember when you showed me No Role Modelz by J.Cole in December 2014? I do. And I’m sitting in an overly air-conditioned basement of a library listening to it and thinking of you and how I’ve been meaning to write this letter so now I am.

(I haven’t sent it yet)

Leave a Reply

