Hi, Hello

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

In the spring my professor told us to write about something meaningful to us. So I waited until it was two, ’til I was sleepy and sad in rambly honesty, and wrote about how somebody had said hi to me that day. Mumbled it, mostly, but uttered it anyways. And it sounds so lame when I put it into words– there’s a million other things (or maybe just a solid few) that could be Meaningful, capital M–but on that day I chose a half-assed hi. It reminds me of Burroughs in his memoir, Running With Scissors, where he goes–

“I used to feel so alone in the city. All those gazillions of people and then me, on the outside. And then I realized, you just say, “Hi.” They may ignore you. Or you may marry them. And that possibility is worth that one word.”

-Running With Scissors, Augusten Burroughs

(So hello to you too.)

7 thoughts on “Hi, Hello

  1. connie.n.w. September 18, 2016 / 5:35 pm

    Hmm did you like this book? I haven’t read it before.

    Like

    • Lu September 21, 2016 / 1:52 am

      Hi Connie! It’s been a few years since I’ve read it (though the quote had always stuck with me) I’d say it was a bit raw, the topic matter sometimes sensitive (Burroughs describes the difficulty of his childhood) but I liked it!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Lu September 21, 2016 / 1:50 am

      Hello, hello! ^.^

      Like

      • captainnoone September 23, 2016 / 11:36 am

        Hello! sorry for the lateness, my brain was turned to mush over the week. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lu September 25, 2016 / 4:18 pm

        No worries, I understand! College gets p busy 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

