Day 19: Walk Away

I heard Nina Simone in Starbucks today; she sang this other song about walking away. It’s called “You’ve Got To Learn” and how you have to leave the table once love’s not being served. I liked the metaphor. I’ve always found dish metaphors to be interesting, like the one in Keri Hilson and Kanye West’s Knock You Down (“you see the hate they’re servin’ on a platter? So what we gon’ have: dessert or disaster?”)

But on the topic of walking away–

I mean, I understand the necessity of walking away. Sometimes you have to. Sometimes people are unkind. Sometimes people treat you badly. Sometimes people are traitorous or abhorrent or manipulative, and ain’t nobody got time for that. “Life is short. The opportunity cost of time is too high.” (My economics professor said that two years ago, and I thought it was hilarious and true so I wrote it down.) And it’s not easy to walk away from people or situations or what-have-you’s, but sometimes you.. have to, and it’s good for you. Like Miguel Ruiz says in The Four Agreements, how it’s ultimately a blessing when disrespectful or unkind people walk away, despite it hurting initially.

I guess I approach this prompt with a bit of detachment, albeit sympathy. It’s been a while since I’ve felt the need to walk away from anybody. My bullshit radar is extremely high; my bullshit tolerance extremely low. I’m also selective about the people in my life; surrounding myself with good people reduces the number of times I feel the need to walk away. So in terms of Nina Simone’s analogy, I seldom show up at tables where love isn’t served, let alone stay, so I don’t (as frequently) feel the need to walk away. In the case where shit-sandwiches are being served, though, I ain’t stayin’ around for dessert. I will happily forgo shit-cakes for a smidgen of dignity and bucketloads of saved time.

That’s just my two-cents.

[30 Day Writing Challenge]

Leave a Reply

