Oxymoron

figure

 

Things I might be certain of:

We’re swimming in norms no one person decided. Maybe the sky is blue. This may or may not be a dream. I like writing incoherent text posts at one in the morning. I deeply suspect that a part of me secretly enjoys–thrives on–the stress of procrastinating and the last-minute headaches of: oh God, oh God, I have an essay due tomorrow and I’ve no idea what the prompt is; I didn’t pay attention any of the times my professor touched upon the paper so now I have to ask around for the prompt and I really should have done this sooner.

Oh. I did fine on the last paper, the one I wrote the afternoon before. The fictionalized one. I don’t write fiction, I haven’t written fiction, not since it got squashed out of me in HS. But when I was eight I liked writing fiction, fiction about girls with blonde and blue hair (all those Mary Kate and Ashley books getting to my head) I never wrote about aliens or dystopias but I guess I’ve been thinking about that a lot (all this data mining getting to my head) so I wrote a paper about it. My TA said he’d have liked me to elaborate more on the story, which I don’t think was even included… Was there a story? Mostly it was like an excruciatingly drawn-out description. I did this my first semester, too. I came up with some drawn-out fictionalized character reading from a book I hadn’t read and then–then what? I did fine.

This is a cycle. I procrastinate, do fine, grow lax in my ability to churn out last-minute papers, then get headaches the day before. I think it’s part laziness, part perfectionism, part I-just-want-to-do-it-because-I-can. I mean, I don’t know.

I keep wishing it’s Christmas. Yesterday I went downtown. Twice, actually. First to wander around the city, second to celebrate my roommate’s birthday. On the car drive back we passed by bars and clubs and concert-cafes and it was so odd catching glimpses into people’s lives–like the city equivalent of peering into brightly-lit homes in suburbia. To see some of the things/hear some of the sounds/feel some of the vibes these other people are experiencing, it’s like witnessing something that isn’t yours to witness or feeling nostalgic for lives you have not lived. God, it’s so unnerving, so mundane at the same time. I can’t explain it. Something to do with seeing. Living, if just for a moment, vicariously through so many people you might never see again. Maybe it’s like the concept of scopophilia we learned about in my queer politics class, just the sheer pleasure of looking, of seeing. Maybe.

Also, ah. Like the happy drunk who cries oh I love you, you know that, right? Totally. I feel exhausted-quiet-grateful for the people who’ve been in my life for years. Raises glass. No, but really. I think sometimes I have the tendency to drift like driftwood, tumble like tumbleweed, forget incessantly to respond and get back to people. (By sometimes I mean always) People come and go. So do roses, foxes, and Little Princes. But in the past few years, a handful haven’t left. And so Oct 17th 2016 1:14 AM I’m going to be grateful for that. Yes, yes, this is my puddle of gratitude.

8 thoughts on “Oxymoron

    • Lu November 5, 2016 / 1:38 am

      Thank you 😀

      Like

  1. ofallthingsbeautifulblog October 17, 2016 / 12:02 pm

    I love the stream-of-consciousness here, I love how real and raw it is. It makes me think of my own late night musings, so thank you for posting that lol, I really enjoyed reading it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lu November 5, 2016 / 1:33 am

      Ah, thank you for the read + kind words! Made me really happy. Also, you have a lovely blog 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. connie.n.w. October 20, 2016 / 3:25 pm

    wow, i love this so much–probably one of my favorite pieces. your words fit smoothly along together like a nice conversation with a person that doesn’t have that awkward pause or smiles. it’s so natural. always keep writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lu November 5, 2016 / 1:49 am

      Aw yay!! I’m so happy you liked this. Thank you Connie, always, for being so encouraging and kind 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Dayana Mustak October 26, 2016 / 5:12 pm

    omg. I wrote about how the olsen twins shaped me as a kid recently haha. also, i love this so much, esp the first paragraph- “We’re swimming in norms no one person decided. Maybe the sky is blue. This may or may not be a dream.” SO GOOD

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lu November 5, 2016 / 1:49 am

      Hahaha the Olsen twins were such a huge presence in pop culture lmao. And THANK YOU DAYANA ❤ 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

