A Weekend Celebration

IMG_9225.jpg

The past weekend was wonderful–GH, AC’s best friend from home, flew up for her birthday. Upon hearing that she was coming to town, I cleared my calendar and spent whatever time I could hanging out with them. Mostly we ate and talked and relaxed–enjoyed the weather, went downtown and ate at a Mexican restaurant for AC’s birthday dinner. The weekend passed by so quickly it felt like she’d just arrived by the time she left.

IMG_9347.jpg

On the first afternoon, after we talked at squirrels, I looked through GH’s sketchbook. Forgot to take pictures, so you’ll just have to trust me when I say she has mad skills. I feel like I learned more from GH over the past two days, in terms of art, than I have in months. Later, on Friday night, the three of us were sleepy and full and watched Black Mirror and drank wine.

On Saturday, we made cookies; they danced to music in the living room while the cookies baked. By the time they were done dancing and talking and I skimming some texts, it was already 5. Dinner reservations were at 6. We headed into the city to show GH the park and the bookstore. I rec’d Quiet by Susan Cain; GH bought that along with some Harry Potter-themed items and another book.

IMG_9351.jpgWe grabbed some more wine and went to dinner, which was really fun. Mostly we were just super wild and boisterous in a tiny Mexican restaurant for, oh, four hours.

It was incredibly fun–here’s to good food and better company. So yay to life. Lifts wine glass: here’s to AC, happy birthday.

One thought on “A Weekend Celebration

Leave a Reply

