Ender’s Game

 Good books are the ones that stay with you; they’re the ones that form memories of experiences you’ve never had. Ender’s Game is one of them. Year after year I return to this book. Then it’s like I’m in space all over again as a six year old boy with a Dragon Army squad that’s training to beat the Buggers.

…So coughing insomniac me’s reading Ender’s Game for maybe the seventh time at 3 in the morning because, y’know, I can.

Except instead of reading it in the book format, as I usually do, I’m reading it online as a graphic novel. (Comics are such an incredible art form–underlooked and underrated.) I’m really impressed by the artist’s ability to visually translate this text. Usually people envision texts differently–book-based movies never look quite the way we imagine it, etc. But Ferry, the artist, just did a really great job of depicting the scenes and characters that I’d at least argue did the story justice. Ender seems Ender-esque: clever, worn and perceptive; the Buggers look strange (but then I remember to empathize); the scenes are vivid and bring to life Orson Scott Card’s descriptions. So props to it, Ferry.

If you’d like to read the Ender’s Game comic online, ’tis hereEnder’s Game, in case you’ve never heard of it, is a military-style sci-fi book that pits mankind against space buggers. Even if you’re not into, say, aliens or sci-fi, I’d still totally recommend this book.

4 thoughts on “Ender’s Game

  1. curious•pondering December 24, 2016 / 9:48 am

    Thanks for providing a link! I have never read “Ender’s Game,” but have always been interested to do so.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Idiot In Tin Foil December 24, 2016 / 11:13 am

    Enders Game is one of my all-time favourite books. I’ll certainly be checking out the comic. Thanks for the link!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lu December 24, 2016 / 5:50 pm

      Yes, same! It’s soooo good. And of course, thanks for the read! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

