Turtlin’ Around

introvert-cartoonInteracting with people’s like exhaling and being alone is like inhaling. Breathe in, and then out. But mostly in. After a while of interacting with others, I end up feeling exhausted, overwhelmed, like something in my body is screaming for solitude and I can’t breathe because people.

Sometimes I try being extroverted. Sort of.  I’ll venture out and make some new friends or go to a party, etc. But it’s unsustainable and tiring. To some extent, it’s fun, and I do like interacting with people in small, measured doses. But not for long. It’s like being a giant battery that’s drained by human interaction; the only way I can recharge is by being alone. Or being a turtle who finds solace in diving into its quiet shell, just turtlin’ around.

5 thoughts on “Turtlin’ Around

    • chasingsakina February 19, 2017 / 5:37 pm

      Being both can be hard at times because people usually see one side or the other..not realising that some people are made up of both. I can relate to this on so many levels and it’s so hard to explain it to others who don’t even try to understand what it’s like. I loved the word turtlin’ though, it made me smile.

      Liked by 2 people

  1. namelesspublications February 19, 2017 / 5:58 pm

    I am the same! Except as I am alone more and more, I begin to feel more and more lonely. So venturing out into the social world is more appealing. But I always return happily to solitude. I loved the sketch to go with this, and the idea of ‘turtling around’ 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. madkatter13 February 27, 2017 / 11:13 am

    I’m an introvert as well and I also find “turlin’ around” to be fabulous. I also call it blanket-ritoing, cocooning and or nesting.

    Loved the post and very relatable!! ❤️🙏🏻👋🏻

    Liked by 1 person

  3. vancapurtaihead February 27, 2017 / 6:59 pm

    Just where perhaps you have discovered the source for the purpose of that write-up? Wonderful studying I have subscribed to your feed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

