Attempts to Journal, Pt. 1

Sunday, April 23rd, 2017

We wore matching clothes today: bright yellow tops that ultimately looked ridiculous together. We tried to get a friend to wear yellow as well–we’d loosely planned to meet and go to an art show–but alas, plans fell through. It’s okay, though. ’twas still a good day.

God, I used to write journal entries like this all the time. I’d come home from school and go straight to the computer where I’d write and write and write. I’d write about the stupidest things, things I’d never care to remember the next day or month or year. I’d write things like, we each had baked potatoes for lunch and then made wild chants upon finishing them. Life’s a million times more interesting now than it was then. Ironically, though, I don’t feel the need to write about it as much. Or even record it. But it could just be a momentarily lapse in obsessive life-recording.

Anyways. Where was I? Right. Journaling. I’m trying to get back into it.

Image result for chewing gum show

Started and finished Chewing Gum on Netflix in about three days. It’s kind of hard to describe how utterly weird it is–it’s cringey in a do-I-laugh-or-cry? sort of way. And it’s so absurd that it catches you off-guard multiple times in a funny discomforting way. My best friend didn’t like it much, but the Internet’s raving about Chewing Gum. At first I didn’t get it, thought it was strange and foreign, but then it grew on me. Next thing I know, I’m imitating the hilariously uptight little sister who’s religious and shrieks a lot.

It’s quirky. But, y’know, I like weird, I like quirky.

Now I’m trying to get into Stranger Things. I’ve watched about an episode and a half, haven’t gotten too far. It reminds me a lot of the video game Beyond Two Souls–from the (Spoiler alert!) government-rooted shapeless evil blob to the hunted protagonist girl with short brown hair and supernatural powers. Update: turns out I’m not alone in drawing the parallels.

7 thoughts on “Attempts to Journal, Pt. 1

    • Lu April 24, 2017 / 12:12 pm

      They’re p interesting! Speaking of Netflix, do you have any rec’s E.L??

      Liked by 1 person

      • Exposed Loving💙 April 24, 2017 / 12:53 pm

        Sure I do…River, Bloodline, The Fall, Blue is the Warmest Color (french drama), The Girl I Loved (Turkish drama), Sense 8, The Killing, The Best Offer, Black Mirror and Death in Paradise (comedy murder mystery series). Those are just a few. I like different types of movies as you can tell from the list. What do you recommend?

        Like

  1. Monika April 24, 2017 / 2:12 pm

    I watched Stranger Things with my boyfriend; I didn’t like it too much, but he did.

    Anyways, your writing style makes even the simplest things such as eating baked potatoes interesting to read 🙂

    Like

  2. ashleymcdermott April 24, 2017 / 3:43 pm

    Ah you’ve just reminded me I started to watch Stranger Things a little while ago, I should probably get back to that and see what all the fuss is about

    🙂

    Like

  3. wrything May 3, 2017 / 9:59 pm

    The way you write your entries is effortless, almost dreamy. You sound so at peace.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

