Free to Be

The other day I sat in a hot car for too long, maybe five hours, and by the end of those five hours felt a sort of exhausted bitterness wash over me- like my body was drained and my arms were heavy and I was irritated, irritated, irritated. I wondered for a moment why it felt so familiar. And then I remembered that that was how HS had felt like. Every day, by 3:45 PM, when I was bored out of my mind, sedentary as a sequestered squirrel, I’d feel that same five-hour-long-trapped-in-a-car heaviness. But now I can let my hair down and sprint across fields and speed across highways and go to the bathroom without raising my goddamn hand. I feel free in the simplest of ways.

5 thoughts on “Free to Be

  1. Monika May 6, 2017 / 3:13 pm

    Giiiirl I feel silly for writing the same over and over again but this is another post I simply LOVE. Short, every word is necessary, so wonderfully written and simply perfect. I can FEEL what you mean. Your writing always makes me dream, feel and think. I hope you’ll write a book someday. ❤

    Like

    • Lu May 16, 2017 / 10:16 pm

      Hi! Aw 🙂 This makes me happy, I’m glad you found it inspiring. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Lu May 16, 2017 / 10:16 pm

      😄😄😄

      Like

Leave a Reply

