Trying My Hand At Handlettering

Bought a calligraphy pen yesterday–now my sketchbook’s filled with inspirational cliches, looping around looking wobbly and vain.

Screen Shot 2017-07-05 at 10.18.17 AM

Before the pen, I was using plain ol’ watercolor brushes for text. The effect is okay, but hardly calligraphy-esque–the font edges aren’t as sharp, and there isn’t as much variation in the lettering thickness. Here are some illustrations pre-calligraphy pen:calligraphy
Now, I’m starting to combine calligraphy with watercolors. Still working on the lettering. It can be a little tedious, and every little hand-wobble’s recorded in ink, but it’s fun.

img_5899-1

6 thoughts on “Trying My Hand At Handlettering

  1. I absolutely love calligraphy. I always wanted to purchase a kit. They use to sell them at a discount price when I would leave my local bookstore. I need to look for one. The art of letter writing, I believe is a dying artform, one that I want to keep alive in my life 🙂

    Like

    • coolpeppermint July 14, 2017 / 9:44 am

      ooh, calligraphy is fun to write! kind of tricky, though, looks easier than it is (at least it was for me) i’ve been using markers, mostly–do you use calligraphy pens?

      Like

  2. Raadhaa September 24, 2017 / 12:04 am

    Wow!! I love how you have used water colors with calligraphy. It just uplifts the whole work! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

