Four Years Later

art

There’s an experimental freeness to this sketchbook. Sometimes it’s messy, blank, smeared or incoherent. School notes from 2013 are tucked in corners. Art brainstorms, thought fragments, mundane day events (“somebody gave me hibiscus tea today) litter the pages.

Been working on this sketchbook for nearly four years now, from 2013 to 2017. I’d work on it for a month or two, get bored, then forget about it for a year. Come the next year, I’d pick it up for a month or two, then forget about it. Repeat. In the spaces in between, I’d buy other sketchbooks to draw in and fill up. This time, though, I want to complete this sketchbook before getting a new one. Here’s hoping I’ll finish it (four years later)

5 thoughts on “Four Years Later

  1. Terri August 12, 2017 / 3:55 pm

    While reading this post, I remembered my own sketchbook that I dabbled with years ago. I’m not even an artist. I also thought about the little journals I used to keep. I can’t tell you how many I’ve thrown away (or burned) in my lifetime, because I realized that I was too embarrassed for anyone to read them if/when I died. Somewhere on a bookshelf in my house is a little book of poetry that I used to pour my feelings into during my divorced years. And now… I dabble in blogging. 🙂 I just haven’t told any of my friends or family. I have several beginnings of posts that might never be finished, because I don’t know if I really want those words out there for the world to read.

    Liked by 1 person

    • coolpeppermint August 14, 2017 / 12:21 pm

      hey terri! thanks for sharing this, and for sharing snippets of your life via blogging 🙂 journaling can be really cathartic, so I totally sympathize with having had many little journals. sometimes I’d feel self-conscious of them, too, and tear them up. if you still want to write without abandon, and keep the docs, I’d recommend having a password protected word document! even though blogs are a great outlet, some things aren’t meant to be shared with the entire world. word docs can offer some more privacy, and you don’t have to throw them away/burn ’em once you’re done writing. anyhow, thanks for the read and comment, terri!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Terri August 15, 2017 / 9:22 am

        Great suggestions! Thanks so much!

        Like

  2. rmcalzada August 12, 2017 / 4:21 pm

    You’re not alone. I’m also guilty of filling spiral after spiral with my creative writing ideas and story concepts, then forgetting about them until months later. I think that nostalgia plays a big part in our creative muse. I hope you do get to sketch more and create what it is that you’re most passionate about 🙂

    Like

  3. Amielle De Torres August 13, 2017 / 4:08 am

    Awww. I know how it feels to start, pause, comes back then pause again. It’s kinda frustrating sometimes that you want to write or draw something but you lack inspiration or motivation. hope you can finish it this time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

